The Instant Relief From Making A Commitment

It has been a little over a week since I made the commitment to myself to be more selfish, more outgoing and to make big lifestyle changes. I have to say that I have already noticed a big difference in how I feel and how I see myself.

I am by no means perfect but it certainly does make me feel better knowing that I am not trying to constantly impress anyone, I am no longer attempting to be someone I am not and I am not trying to do things that I do not think benefit me. It is such a healthier way to live, it is the advice that I have been giving to my friends for years but now I am actually taking it. And I wish I listened to myself sooner.

In two days I will be 19 years old and I can not wait to start this new chapter in my life. My grandmother recently reminded me to “stop and smell the roses”. A phrase we have all heard time and time again but now I am actually trying to put it to work. My grandmother stated that most people who turn 19 or 20 are so desperate to be 21 that they forget that these years count.

I am happy to tell my grandmother that I will make 19 count! It’s one year older, one year smarter, one year wiser but most importantly it’s one more year gone! Life is such a precious and amazing gift. And I think after wasting my 18th year, I want nothing more then to be 19 years young. I want to be happy with who I am and be more invested in where I am. I will be 21 in the blink of an eye (seriously where is time going?!) but I will never be 18 again, and I want to cherish the few days I have left of it before I move on to my next adventure.

Today I say I am happy that I can make myself happy, make myself pleased and keep myself on track. In the next month I will continue to update you on my journey to recommitting to my health, taking better care of my body and keeping my spirits up. I am so excited to see where this journey is going and what 19 years of life has in store!

Happy fucking birthday to me! ❤

Leave a Reply

