The Magical Taste of Independence

Whenever I’m ask to list a value or quality about myself that I think is important or favorable, the first thing that always comes to my mind is being independent. I don’t know why it has always been so important to me but it always has. I didn’t want my mom to drive me to the movies, I didn’t need my brother to pick me from school, or my dad to make my lunch. I just always wanted to feel like I could support myself and I could do things by myself.

It is a quality that I think has worked out well in my favor… for the most part. I didn’t want to be the kid at college who was using a washing machine for the first time, or being the girl who couldn’t survive without a man…. A few of my friends in high school fit that latter example and I think that is when I noticed how much independence was not just important to me but essential.

Now sure—I’d be lying if I didn’t wish I had someone to dependent on besides my family or someone who I could be weak with. But at the end of the day I truly do like being an independent woman. I would love to have a man in my life but there is difference for me. One that I thing is often missed among women my age or women in Midwest. A fact that all us independent gals are desperate for our counterparts to remember; men are supposed to ADD to your life not BE your life. That is the key difference.

This entry however has nothing to do with men! 😀

Its about the fact that I clenched a summer sublease in my college town. Why is that so special? It’s is a one bedroom apartment! For the first time in 19 years I will actually, truly live alone! Independence at it’s finest. No roommate, no one to help with the rent and no one to hid bathroom smells from. (at least I’m honest here)

I’m ALONE!

I am excited to experience this huge adult lifestyle and truly see myself succeed. Cooking for myself, sleeping alone and entertaining myself.

As a downside, I’m sure I will get a little lonely — we can have guest though (special ones too 😉 ) But I am excited to get to know myself better and to have my own nice and quiet space.

I love my dorm, my roommate and I have truly had a blessed freshmen living experience as my first time being away from home. But living by yourself is a whole new experience and a whole new adventure. Even if it is just for the summer….

In the fall I will move into a townhouse with 3 other girls, which I am also super pumped for.

But this new adventure? It’s exciting. And if I can finally leave my shitty job with enough money to buy a car?

Then I will truly master my goals.

In the words of a friend of mine: Get a job, get a car, get your life together

Here’s to figuring shit out and living life one day at a time ❤

Leave a Reply

